Lafferty Debate

The Lafferty Debate is named after the Australian transplant immunologist and director of the John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR), Prof Kevin Lafferty. After his death in 2001 Kevin is remembered for his many scientific achievements, his skills as a raconteur and his passionate questioning of scientific ideas. Hence, the Lafferty debate takes a light-hearted approach to discussing current issues faced by today’s immunologists.

Debate topic: Discovery research is dead – we already know everything we need to know about the immune system

Moderator: Stuart Tange – Garvan Institute

Location: All workshops will be held at The Peter Doherty Institute (corner of Royal Parade & Grattan Street) and The University of Melbourne Alan Gilbert Building (Grattan Street) Parkville. 

Time: 1730 – 1830 AEDT 


Check out the 2022 Teams below…

Team 1

1. Kirsty Short (Team Captain)
    University of Queensland

2. Carolien van de Sandt
     Peter Doherty Institute

3. Fern Koay
     Peter Doherty Institute

Team 2

1. Shalin Naik (Team Captain)
    Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

2. Ashraful Haque
    Peter Doherty Institute

3. Sumaira Husnain
    The University of Queensland and the Mater Institute